TheInstitute for Packaging Professionalsis pleased to announce the winners of the Institute's academic scholarships for 2011-2012. Four $2,500 academic scholarships were awarded, recognizing exceptional college students headed for a career in packaging.

The 2011-2012 winners – all student members of IoPP – are:

•    Robert Bruce Duncan
University of Massachusetts - Lowell
Major in Plastics Engineering

•    Ian Thomas McClaire
University of Wisconsin-Stout
Major in Packaging

•    Alexandra Leigh Siciliano
Michigan State University
Major in Packaging with a specialization in design

•    Emily Ruth Wiggins
Michigan State University
Major in Packaging with a specialization in sustainability

“IoPP is proud to recognize the packaging industry’s future young professionals,” says Jane Chase, IoPP immediate past chair. “The IoPP scholarship program paves the way for the next step, a mentoring program that fosters the career development process and connects tomorrow’s leaders with those of today.”

The scholarships have been created to support packaging education and to raise awareness of packaging as a career choice. The scholarships are funded by founding supporters, including the Central Ohio, Chicago, Minnesota, Missouri Gateway and Tejas IoPP chapters and IoPP benefactor companies.

Candidates must be students in their Junior or Senior year, pursuing a degree at an accredited college, university or vocational/technical school in a course of study relevant to a career in the packaging industry.

Winners will be recognized during the IoPP AmeriStar and IoPP Honors & Awards Dinner on May 10 at the Hyatt Regency O'Hare, Rosemont, Ill. The IoPP Missouri Gateway Chapter will be presenting a $1,000 check in support of the program during the Awards event.

For more information about the IoPP Scholarship fund, contact Sarah Washburn at 630-544-5050 x116; e-mail:; or